Getting caught driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs can result in severe legal consequences. The most common penalties are jail time, fines, and license suspensions. Drivers who hurt others may also be required to pay compensation to victims. Having a DUI or DWI conviction can also affect your employment opportunities. Many employers screen applicants’ criminal records and will be hesitant to hire someone who has been arrested for drunk driving. It can also be difficult to obtain loans and insurance coverage if you have a record of drunk driving.
dwi louisiana the terms DUI and DWI are used interchangeably for charges related to drunk driving. The state’s law on DWI is found in La RS 14:98. Generally, you will be charged with DWI if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher.
Your first DUI charge in Louisiana is considered a misdemeanor. You can face jail time, probation, community service, treatment, and a fine up to $1000. If you are a commercial driver, you will be subject to more serious penalties. You will also be required to install an ignition interlock device on your car to prevent you from drinking while driving.
A well-trained and experienced DUI lawyer in Louisiana can help you avoid a conviction for your first offense. The attorney will have a strategy to see that your case is presented in the most favorable light. He will make sure that the evidence against you is carefully reviewed by the judge at your hearing.